Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee


  • Review and evaluate requests for HPSM formulary additions from practitioners in the community
  • Evaluate policies and procedures pertaining to pharmacy practice
  • Identify problems and issues for the attention of the Commission and HPSM staff


The Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee consists of 13 members comprised of the Pharmacist Commissioner, contracting pharmacists and a psychiatrist.

Jack Tayan, ChairConsultant
George Pon, R.Ph.Commissioner-Pharmacist
Bill Becker, R.Ph.Contracting Pharmacist
Gary Horne, R.Ph. / Anastasia Sajuthi, PharmDContracting Pharmacist, SMMC Providers
Jaime Chavarria, M.D.Contracting Physician
Lena Osher, M.D. Psychiatrist

Vacant positions: Contracting Pharmacist (3), Contracting Pharmacist - Chain Pharmacy, Contracting Physician (2), Contracting Physician - SMMC.

Committee meetings

When: Bi-monthly on the 2nd Wednesday from 7:00 – 9:00 a.m. 

Where: To be determined (for information, call the Clerk of the Commission at 650-616-2140)