San Mateo Health Commission

and San Mateo Community Health Authority


  • Set policy for and provide financial oversight of HPSM
  • Review and approve contracts that HPSM enters into with outside vendors
  • Establish and consider input from advisory groups and committees of the commission


The Commission’s eleven members are appointed by the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors. They represent the full spectrum of local stakeholders, including County government officials, physicians and members of the public (such as HPSM beneficiaries, minority advocates and business owners).

David J. Canepa, ChairBoard of Supervisors, San Mateo County
Ligia Andrade Zuniga, Vice ChairPublic (Beneficiary or Representative)
Don HorsleyBoard of Supervisors, San Mateo County
Jeanette Aviles, M.D. San Mateo Medical Center
Si France, M.D.Business Community
Peggy JensenCounty Manager Designee
George Pon, R.Ph.Pharmacist
Kenneth Tai, M.D.Physician
Teresa Guingona FerrerPublic (Senior and/or Minority Communities)

Vacant positions: Hospital and public representatives.

Commission Meetings

The regular meeting of the San Mateo Health Commission and the San Mateo Community Health Authority is scheduled for the second Wednesday of each month with the exception of February, June and September 2018.

Questions: Call the Clerk of the Commission at 650-616-0050
Meeting Agenda

San Mateo Community Health Authority

The San Mateo Health Commission (SMHC) is the governing board for the Health Plan of San Mateo. It is a local public agency and political subdivision of the State of California, created by San Mateo County Ordinance No. 03067 and amended by Ordinance No. 04422, consisting of Sections 2.23.020 of Chapter 2.23 of Title 2 of the San Mateo County Ordinance Code, pursuant to authority for such creation conferred by California Welfare and Institutions Code, Section 14087.51.